Volunteer on Tenerife: help and learn on an organic finca

Work Exchange/ WorkAway in Tenerife: Travel cheaply, learn and help. This is the concept developed by WWOOF (Worldwide Opportunities on Organic Farms) in 1970 in England by Sue Coppard. Over the years, other platforms such as WorkAway, helpX, hippohelp, volunteerbase, helpstay and of course various groups on Facebook have emerged. The basic concept of the Work Exchange is that travellers – WWOOFers, WorkAwayers or volunteers – support a host in his or her work with time and skills.

Many see this as a fair deal, some see themselves as cheap labour, as the work is not paid.

WorkAway auf Teneriffa - WWOOF, Workaway, Volunteering, Freiwilligenarbeit

WorkAway auf Teneriffa

WorkAway on Tenerife: Work Exchange on an Organic Finca

Creating a food forest requires not only know-how, but also a lot of muscle power and work. Once the forest garden has been properly planted, it still needs a few years of cultivation until it mutates into a self-sustaining biotope.

 

8 reasons why Work Exchange – whether through WWOOF, WorkAway, helpX, volunteerbase – is a great deal even though you don’t get paid:

  • Travel costs are reduced to travel costs and possibly personal expenses
  • Get to know local life outside the tourist centres
  • Get your first work experience abroad in an uncomplicated way
  • Discover your own skills and still be integrated in a family
  • Quickly make friends abroad
  • Learn more insider tips than normal tourists by living with a local family
  • International exchange with other WWOOFers, WorkAwayers and volunteers

and on top::

  • As a volunteer, you often support projects that would not be possible without this work exchange. It is only through volunteering that many ecological or social projects become possible!

Why do hosts offer the opportunity of a WorkExchange?

Work Exchange hosts often have very simple reasons why they participate in such programmes. Often there are larger plots of land, farms, fincas or larger houses behind them, which also require a lot of work, their own children are out of the house and there is plenty of space. For many hosts, money doesn’t even play a big role, but rather temporary projects for which they want uncomplicated support.

For the WWOOFer or Workawayer, this means that he usually comes to places that he would never find or visit as a tourist. They meet people who usually have nothing to do with tourism, but often have their own life stories and experiences to share.

How does such an exchange work?

Most platforms work according to the same principle. The host has his own mask on which he presents himself and his project, and anlalogue also the WWOOFer or Workawayer, or volunteer. Both the volunteer can contact the host and the host can contact the volunteer. Depending on how comfortable the platforms are equipped, they function similar to a dating platform, where proposals are made according to certain commonalities.

What are the tasks to be done?

The tasks can be of very different nature, e.g.

  • Gardening and farm work
  • Looking after children
  • Looking after pets
  • Support in the household
  • Handicrafts and construction
  • Administrative activities, internet
  • Creative activities

The details are important:

Most of the time, the work exchange brings together different people of different ages, nations, religions, levels of experience, etc. It is important to communicate clearly and honestly what you expect and offer from each other. It should be communicated clearly and honestly what is expected and offered from each other. Understatements or exaggerations can be unpleasant for both sides. It is more sensible to cancel a host or WorkAwayer than to go through a mutually unsatisfactory time. WorkAway can be an extremely positive experience for both sides, but it can also lead to frustration and disappointment.

Typical sticking points that can lead to mutual dissatisfaction:

  • You’re coming out of school and have no practical experience, but you apply to a host who needs help with a renovation project.
  • You are allergic to cats and are applying for a job on a farm where cats actually belong.
  • You can’t do anything with children, but you are applying to a family with small children.
  • You prefer a vegan diet, but are applying to a host where everything is eaten but vegan.
  • You’re a slacker and really just want a cheap holiday
  • You barely speak the local language and the host doesn’t speak your language.
  • You confuse the host with your hotel mum
  • You want to travel with a boyfriend or girlfriend for the first time and see your stay as a love holiday.

Volunteers, WWOOFers, WorkAwayers etc. should be aware that the host has a problem or concern that they would like to resolve with an exchange. So check in advance if you are able to solve the problem. If so, it should be a positive experience for both parties. If you have completely different goals, then look for another host or consider a hotel holiday.

Workaway on Tenerife: Come and help build a Food Forest – ecological, non-commercial project

Permaculture and food forests are serious alternatives to industrial agriculture. They are more small-scale, avoid the use of chemicals, work with nature and not against it. Once such projects are properly set up and established, they can feed families or even entire village communities. However, setting up such projects involves a lot of manual labour and often takes years.

Our Food Forest Ecotava project was started in 2019 on a fallow land, the basic structure has been laid but still needs a lot of maintenance. The project pursues several goals, among others as a showcase project for imitation in a region where ecological agriculture does not yet play a major role. In a region that used to be agricultural, but today young people have little interest in traditional agriculture. Workaway on Tenerife.

Volontär auf Teneriffa

Volontär auf Teneriffa: helfen und lernen auf einer Bio Finca

Work Exchange/ WorkAway auf Teneriffa: Billig reisen, lernen und helfen. Das ist das Konzept, das von WWOOF (Worldwide Opportunities on Organic Farms) 1970 in England von Sue Coppard entwickelt wurde. Im Laufe der Jahre entstanden weitere Plattformen wie WorkAway, helpX, hippohelp, volunteerbase, helpstay und natürlich auch diverse Gruppen bei Facebook. Das Grundkonzept des Work Exchange besteht darin, dass Reisende – WWOOFer, WorkAwayer oder Volontäre –  einen Gastgeber – Host – bei seiner Arbeit mit Zeit und Fähigkeiten unterstützen.

Viele sehen das als fairen Deal, manche sehen sich als billige Arbeitskraft, da die Arbeit nicht bezahlt wird.

WorkAway auf Teneriffa - WWOOF, Workaway, Volunteering, Freiwilligenarbeit

WorkAway auf Teneriffa

WorkAway auf Teneriffa: Work Exchange auf einer Bio Finca 

Einen Food Forest anzulegen erfordert nicht nur Know How, sondern eine ganze Portion Muskelkraft und Arbeit. Ist der Waldgarten dann aber richtig angelegt, bedarf er noch einiger Jahre Wachtumspflege, bis er dann zu einem sich selbst erhaltendem Biotop mutiert.

 

 

8 Gründe, warum Work Exchange – egal ob über WWOOF, WorkAway, helpX, volunteerbase – ein super Deal ist, obwohl Du keine Bezahlung erhältst:

  • Reisekosten reduzieren sich auf die Anreisekosten und eventuell persönliche Ausgaben
  • Lokales Leben der Menschen außerhalb der Touristenzentren kennenlernen
  • Unkompliziert erste Arbeitserfahrungen im Ausland bekommen
  • Eigene Fähigkeiten entdecken und trotzdem in einer Familie integriert sein
  • Schnellen Anschluss und Freunde im Ausland finden
  • Durch das Leben bei einer lokalen Familie mehr Insidertipps erfahren als normale Touristen
  • Internatioanaler Austausch mit anderen WWOOFern, WorkAwayern, Volontären

und on top::

  • Oft unterstützt man als Volontär Projekte, die ohne diesen Work Exchange nicht möglich wären. Erst durch Freiwilligenarbeit werden viele ökologische oder soziale Projekte möglich!

Warum bieten Gastgeber die Gelegenheit eines WorkExchanges an?

Work Exchange Gastgeber – Hosts – haben oft ganz simple Gründe, warum sie an solchen Programen teilnehmen. Oft stecken größere Grundstücke, Farmen, Fincas oder größere Häuser dahinter, die auch viel Arbeit erfordern, die eigenen Kinder sind aus dem Haus und reichlich Platz vorhanden. Bei vielen Hosts spielt nicht einmal Geld ein große Rolle, sondern vielmehr befristete Projekte für die man sich unkompliziert Unterstützung wünscht.

Für den WWOOFer oder Workawayer bedeutet das, dass er meistens an Orte kommt, die er als Tourist niemals finden oder besuchen würde. Er kommt mit Menschen zusammen, die mit Tourismus meistens nichts am Hut haben, sondern oft ganze eigene Lebensgeschichten und Erfahrungen aufzeigen können.

Wie funktioniert so ein Exchange?

Die meisten Exchange-Plattformen funktionieren nach dem gleichen Prinzip. Der Host nutzt eine eigene Maske, auf der er sich und sein Projekt präsentiert und anlalog auch der WWOOFer oder Workawayer, bzw. Volontär. Sowohl der Volontär kann den Host kontaktieren, als auch der Host den Volontär. Je nachdem wie komfortabel die Plattformen ausgestattet sind, funktionieren sie ähnlich einer Dating Plattform, wo nach bestimmten Gemeinsamkeiten jeweils Vorschläge unterbreitet werden.

Welche Aufgaben sind zu erledigen?

Die Aufgaben können sehr unterschiedlicher Natur sein, z.B.

  • Garten- und Farmarbeiten
  • Betreuung von Kindern
  • Betreuung von Haustieren
  • Unterstützung im Haushalt
  • Handwerkliche Tätigkeiten und Konstruktion
  • Administrative Tätigkeiten, Internet
  • Kreative Tätigkeiten

Wichtig sind die Details:

Meistens kommen bei dem Work Exchange unterschiedliche Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters, unterschiedlicher Nationen, Religionen, unterschiedlicher Erfahrungswerte et. zusammen. Es sollte ganz klar und ehrlich kommuniziert werden, was man voneinander erwartet und bietet. Untertreibungen oder Übertreibungen können dabei für beide Seiten unangenehm sein. Es ist vernünftiger, einem Host oder WorkAwayer abzusagen als eine für beiden Seiten unbefriedigende Zeit durchzumachen. WorkAway kann zu einer äußerst positiven Erfahrung für beiden Seiten werden, aber auch Frust und Enttäuschung nach sich ziehen.

Typische Knackpunkte, die zur wechselseitigen Unzufriedenheit führen können:

  • Du kommst aus der Schule und hast keinerlei praktische Erfahrung, bewirbst dich aber bei einem Host, der Unterstützung bei einer Renovierung benötigt
  • Du hast eine Katzenallergie und bewirbst dich auf einem Bauernhof, wo Katzen eigentlich dazugehören
  • Du kannst mit Kindern rein gar nichts anfangen, bewirbst dich aber bei einer Familie mit kleinen Kindern
  • Du bevorzugst eine vegane Diät, bewirbst dich aber bei einem Host, wo alles gegessen wird, bloß nicht vegan.
  • Du bist ein Faulpelz und möchtest eigentlich nur einen billigen Urlaub machen
  • Du beherrscht kaum die Landessprache und der Host nicht deine Sprache
  • Du verwechselst den Host mit dem Hotel Mama
  • Du möchtest erstmals mit Freund oder Freundin verreisen und siehst den Aufenthalt als Liebesurlaub

Volontäre, WWOOFer, WorkAwayer etc sollten sich bewusst sein, dass der Host ein Problem oder Anliegen hat, das er mit einem Exchange lösen möchte. Prüfe also im Vorfeld, ob du in der Lage bist, das Problem zu lösen. Wenn das der Fall ist, sollte es ein für beide Seiten positives Erlebnis werden. Hast du ganz andere Ziele, dann such dir einen anderen Host oder überlege dir doch eher einen Hotelurlaub.

Workaway auf Teneriffa: Komm und hilf beim Aufbau eines Food Forest – ökologisches, nicht kommerzielles Projekt

Permakultur und Food Forest sind ernst zu nehmende Alternativen zur industriellen Landwirtschaft. Sie sind kleinteiliger, verzichten auf den Einsatz von Chemie, arbeiten mit der Natur und nicht gegen sie. Sind solche Projekte erst einmal richtig angelegt und etabliert, können sie Familien oder auch ganze Dorfgemeinschaften ernähren. Der Aufbau ist jedoch mit viel Handarbeit verbunden ist und dauert oft Jahre.

Unser Projekt Food Forest Ecotava wurde 2019 auf einer Brachlandschaft begonnen, die Grundstruktur ist gelegt, aber es bedarf noch viel Pflegeaufwand. Das Projekt verfolgt mehrere Ziele u.a. als Schauprojekt zur Nachahmung in einer Region, in der ökologische Landwirtschaft noch keine große Rolle spielt. In einer Region, die früher landwirtschaftlich geprägt war, heute junge Menschen aber nur noch wenig Interesse an der klassischen Landwirtschaft haben. Workaway auf Teneriffa.